Scroll Top


SCMR Accreditation Training Guidelines

Current SCMR training guidelines are collated here by SCMR

BSCMR Training Guidelines

The BSCMR has created a document (click here) to expand on the guidelines as an aid to the trainee and assessor.  It includes useful tools such as DOPs and CbD forms and the appendices provide training record sheets.

European Society of Cardiology (ESC) Certification 

The European Association of Cardiovascular Imaging (EACVI), a registered branch of the ESC, offers a certification process in CMR and an international CMR examination. For more information click

The next European CMR exam will be run in Prague, Czech Republic, on 27th May 2017. For more details about the exam visit


Speciality Training for Cardiology 

The JRCPTB 2010 training guideline for cardiology covers cardiology specialty training in the UK. Details here.

Speciality Levels of Accreditation

There are three levels of CMR accreditation:

Level 1 competency is the most basic level and reflects core CMR training that should be obtained by all cardiology trainees.

Level 2 competency is the level required for an individual wishing to report CMR studies—with local or remote support from a Level 3 certified individual.

Level 3 competency is required for individuals wishing to perform, interpret, and report CMR studies fully independently, to lead a CMR laboratory and to supervise CMR training programmes in an accredited CMR training centre.

The trainee section of this website is supported by Bayer HealthCare